Directors to visit Clin d’Oeil Festival 2017

  • July 2017
  • News

Zebra Uno’s Directors and Deaffest Co-Founders Nikki Stratton and Marilyn Willrich will be flying over to France this weekend to attend Clin d’Oeil Festival 2017. Nikki will be joining the judging panel to select the winning films! 

This will be my first visit to the event and I am very much looking forward to the seeing both the talent and the festivities. David and I have supported each other’s festivals over the years and it is an honour to be asked to be one of the film judges for Clin d’Oeil Festival 2017. I look forward to watching the films and working with the other judges.” – Nikki Stratton 

The biennial Clin d’Oeil Festival was founded by Director David de Keyzer, who presented one of the awards at Deaffest 2017 in May. The Clin d’Oeil deaf international arts festival was formed in 2003 and this year will be the 8th event. The festival strives to create a bridge between the deaf and hearing worlds, and to break down barriers.

Photo taken by Mark Mecklenburgh, Willow Photography Ltd

The Deaffest and Clin d’Oeil Festivals have supported each other for years and it has always been a great pleasure to work with Director David de Keyzer. Members of the Deaffest team have previously attended four Clin d’Oeil festivals and even produced a documentary about Clin d’Oeil, marking their 10th Anniversary celebrations in 2013. The documentary was exclusively screened at Deaffest 2014 and is available to view online here.

Taking place in Reims, known as the capital of Frances Champagne region and with a strong historic background, the Clin dOeil Festival is suitable for all ages. Past Clin d’Oeil festivals have incorporated a Country theme, as a way of introducing the culture and history of various Countries to festival goers, and this year’s festival will introduce Brazil and will showcase the Countrys creative arts and talents. 

Alongside our very own Nikki Stratton, the judging panel for the film competition will also include; British Filmmaker Louis Neethling, French Filmmaker Pierre Louis Levacher, French Filmmaker Veronique Berthonneau and Treasurer for the European Union of the Deaf Youth (EUDY) Marie Bresson. There will be 6 awards across the following categories; Best Film, Best Deaf Director, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best 3D Animation Film and Best Youth Deaf Film. You can view the nominations here.

The winners will be announced this Saturday, 8th July 2017 in the evening. All the best to the judges and the nominees!

6th July 2017

  • Share Post:
ArrowBack to Blog
Project-IconLet’s start a media project Get in touchArrow